The beauty of slowing down and enjoying the moment’s work.

Go slow’, were words I often heard, and still do. I am(as told by wise others), trying to race through everything I do. It is the instant world, isn’t it ?  ;-)

As a child, I raced through poetry recitation competitions, speaking at the speed of light.  I never realized I was fast , but was aware that people asked me to  slow down.

As a child I didn’t know when I rushed through a speech.

When I read a book, I had to finish it, right now , at this moment. So I speed read, I ate and read, read under the blanket with a flash light, read till the book was FINISHED. I needed to immerse myself in the experience, to know what happens in the end, so I gobbled up the books, I read and read and read. I knew I was fast and it was fun :)

In my painting class in college, I wanted to hurry and paint the best painting NOW. Only I couldn’t so I quit :)

Now, in my Yoga class my teacher points out, how rushed my movement it. In my Quran reading class, my teacher says the same, am running and running, in my movement, my speech and thought.

I worry about a hundred things that haven’t happen. Thoughts at the speed of lightning.

And what does all this hurrying, this being super fast do ? If we’re so fast, we end up dizzy, with the world spinning around us and us grappling with finding a solid footing. It’s fun too, it’s a frenzy but it isn’t real and we don’t move forward (with much ease anyway).

Why do we rush ? Sometimes the moment scares us. It’s best hurried though and its done. We rush, as sometimes we think this moment is boring. we rush because we want the difficult part to end quickly and the result to be brilliant – quickly. And it is sometimes.

But it isn’t always. A rushed painting doesn’t have layers of colour that make the sun more real and the water appear deep.

A rushed speech will never touch the hearts of its listeners.

Read super fast and we miss the beauty of the verse, or that timeless eternal line. And the book itself will soon be forgotten.

And that is never the aim.

Beauty, Inspiration, Wisdom, Kindness, Grace is the aim and this is ever-present in the moment. 

So I finally began to notice – this moment. 

The softness of slow speech and thought that makes us more conscious of what we say and how, of how we truly listen and learn to be there, be compassionate and kind. 

The moment shows us- the grace of slow movement and the elegance and strength it brings. 

The attention to detail in all that we do that makes the way enjoyable and in time the goal too.

The strength of courage, the resilience of hard work, the determination to go on. All these lay in the moment.

The breath, its ability to calm us, to bring peace and joy anywhere comes with conscious attention, with breathing slowly, gracefully, rhythmically.

Slowing down is beautiful. 

 

About Uzma

Welcome . This blog is a place of reflection ,a place of simple inspiration. A place where we share the simplicity and grandeur of life, as it teaches us, humbles us and leaves us full of gratitude. The journey is one of sheer Grace.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The beauty of slowing down and enjoying the moment’s work.

  1. synchronicitybridge says:

    Ahhh…Uzma :)

    This post has to be one of the most focused that you have ever given us :)

    Very much worth slowing down time for…well worth the wait :)

    Last week while operating a large meeting room for an International Chemistry Convention our recording system went down. The speaker in a hurry just went ahead. After he concluded I called in our Tech to resolve the issue, which created a pause in the presentations. While brilliant minds from around the world were impatient, our Tech methodically…’slowly’…calmly…took care of the problem with his own pace. He did not worry about the hundreds of people in the room and their thoughts because he knew that only through clear observation and correction…

    *The Show Must Go On*

    It ‘went on’ :)

    Thank you Uzma…

  2. synchronicitybridge says:

    Ahhh…Uzma :)

    This post has to be one of the most focused that you have ever given us :)

    Very much worth slowing down time for…well worth the wait :)

    Last week while operating a large meeting room for an International Chemistry Convention our recording system went down. The speaker in a hurry just went ahead. After he concluded I called in our Tech to resolve the issue, which created a pause in the presentations. While brilliant minds from around the world were impatient, our Tech methodically…’slowly’…calmly…took care of the problem in his own pace. He did not worry about the hundreds of people in the room and their thoughts because he knew that only through clear observation and correction…

    *The Show Must Go On*

    It ‘went on’ :)

    Thank you Uzma…

  3. souldipper says:

    Oh, thank you, Uzma. What truth and insight you’ve shared.

  4. Nasmira says:

    :) And I thought I was the only who speaks ‘fast’..that’s been the only complain I’ve got from just about everyone..teachers..friends..strangers…’slow down’ is an order I get very often..

  5. Tammy says:

    I discovered your site from a link on SimpleHumble.

    Thank you so much for this post. Your willingness to share your experience allowed me to see myself in your message.

    Not rushing the good (or bad) times is a lesson I’ve had to learn … and am still learning. While traveling to unbelievable sites, I make myself sit and take it in. When in pain, I have come to understand that fighting it either makes it worse (physical) or last much longer (emotional).

    I’m in a much calmer place now. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

