What gratitude taught me.

The power of gratitude stuns me every time.  For the past few days, I’ve been trying to find a way to thank God for the healing of a loved one. To simply say ‘thank you’ just didn’t feel like enough. I had to do more. But I couldn’t find a prayer that was specially designed for gratitude of this magnitude. How do you thank God for a miracle? Rather, how do you thank God for everything in this life, for healing, for stunning Nature, for warmth and love?

Life always has the answers and it came to me. My Arabic teacher whose book was recently published had a party for her students. Being the wise lady that she is , she was asked to speak, and what she said touched me very deeply and answered my questions about gratitude. This is what she said,

“Gratitude can be expressed in 3 ways. One is by feeling it in our hearts, two, by expressing it in words and three, by sharing what we are grateful for. If we have knowledge given to us and we are grateful for it, we must share it. If we are in a position of power, we must share it. If we want to thank God for abundance, we must share.”

In her words, lay my answer. To share, to give, is to express my gratitude. And sharing knows no bounds just as gratitude knows no bounds.

It didn’t end there though. She went on to thank us, her students for coming to her and learning from her, for this she says, gave her the confidence and ability to write her book!!! A teacher thanked her students.

And it left us speechless. Like I said, the power of gratitude stuns me, every time.

This was a deeply touching moment. A moment and a gesture from which there is much to learn.

What did I learn?

-True achievement isn’t about what we do; rather it is about what we give.

– When one truly shares from the heart, it creates much joy and peace.

-One is never too big, to be grateful.

-Gratitude is humbling, it depicts a magnificent spirit.

– When we express our thanks, what we’re grateful for increases manifold.

-Gratitude creates positivity as we focus on the good in our lives.

-The heart finds hope and solace in gracious thanks.

To truly express thanks then is to share, from the heart . And in this way, a humbling joy flows through all of us.

I set out to learn a new and powerful way to express my gratitude and gratitude in turn ended up teaching me, what I needed to learn.

The best way to express thanks is to pay it forward. In all humility and much peace- to share.

Like I said, the power of gratitude stuns me everytime and the learning continues..

About Uzma

Welcome . This blog is a place of reflection ,a place of simple inspiration. A place where we share the simplicity and grandeur of life, as it teaches us, humbles us and leaves us full of gratitude. The journey is one of sheer Grace.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Life lessons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What gratitude taught me.

  1. Wow, I liked this article and the message it converys.

    Especially

    “What did I learn?

    -True achievement isn’t about what we do; rather it is about what we give.

    – When one truly shares from the heart, it creates much joy and peace.

    -One is never too big, to be grateful.

    -Gratitude is humbling, it depicts a magnificent spirit.

    – When we express our thanks, what we’re grateful for increases manifold.

    -Gratitude creates positivity as we focus on the good in our lives.

    -The heart finds hope and solace in gracious thanks.”

    Keep writing Uzma. 🙂

  2. uzma7 says:

    @Abubakar. Thank you for your appreciation and encouragement. God bless.

  3. vaidehi says:

    BEAUTIFUL is an understatement!!!!! its written straight from the heart and it shows!!!:) your soul shines through all the way!I could sense ‘gratitude’ as i read along!god bless always.

  4. Sulthana says:

    beautiful article that echoes how I feel about gratitude too – I think being grateful enables you to not take things for granted and really appreciate what you have and this in turn makes you really notice and see things in life that you wouldn’t have otherwise, like stopping to stare at a pretty flower or breathing in the smell of after-rain 🙂

    keep writing – as a true writer you never stop thinking about writing even when you have at points of your life shoved it at the back of your mind, writing still eventually comes back to the fore – that’s how I’ve found it anyway 🙂

  5. uzma7 says:

    @Sulthana. Thank you so much for your kind words. They are much appreciated. What you say about gratitude is so true. Its areally good point you make about how gratitude enables you to appreciate what you have,and notice what you wouldn’t have otherwise. We seem to have similar interests.I love a pretty flower and the smell of rain.

    You’re so right about writing . Thats exactly how it is for me. Never gets pushed, always there. Words gets jumbled in the chaos of life yet often find their way to flow through. In times of disturbance they’re a waterfall, in times of peace , a flowing river. And sometimes, just sometimes, a quiet ,pristine, still lake reflecting the light of the moon 🙂

  6. Dia says:

    Thanks uzma7, very nice article. The word “gratitude” has power in it. Whenever we are grateful to God, we get more of what we are thankful for. Thanks for sharing uzma7

  7. uzma7 says:

    @Dia. Thank you Dia. It is my pleasure to share. Indeed, we do get more of what we are grateful for. Gratitude has great energy isn’t it? Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

