Learning in the rain:Love, joy,courage and the moment.

A beautiful day got adorned with precious rain. It poured suddenly and we all ran for cover ; old ladies  walking in the park, a little girl playing with her father , a group of boys chasing each other, burqa clad ladies  strolling with their friends and  I.We gathered in a canopy at the park , our steps rushed and full of excitement that the sudden rain brings. And it made me think.

This is all that we need. People of all ages, men, women, children, girls, boys, babies, rich , poor, happy, sad. This is what we all need; this is what we run towards – shelter, protection, care. This is what every heart needs – love. Whoever we maybe, whatever we may do, it’s the common thread that binds all us ; the joy in caring and being cared for, the warmth of affection both given and taken, the love that makes us smile  as we give and receive. Beautiful, like the rain.

I ran for shelter to protect my iPod. Because it has my world in it, and was a gift from my brother.  The rain drops taught me that we instinctively protect what we love, what defines us, what matters to us. I didn’t mind getting wet, but I did have a problem if my iPod did. It makes my heart sing. For true love and joy, we worry, we live.

After a few hours of writing this , my iPod mysteriously shut down making me feel empty. Making me realize that what we hold onto very hard slips away, like sand slips through our hands. What we can do is enjoy and love what we have, with an open palm, and open heart. We can be grateful for the moment , for loved one’s , for joys, for learning and the beauty of the rain.

In the canopy, I sat at the edge as others huddled behind me, saying in Urdu ‘kitne khoobsurat dikh raha hai’. ‘How beautiful it looks’. The park is on a hill, the sun had gotten lost in the rain clouds as it set.

All of us, every one of us stops , literally our hearts, our minds, our thoughts stop as we look in the moment at the beauty when it shows up in its spectacular wonder. It rained and we saw.

To look at life’s beauty , to live it in the moment , such a wonderful thing to do. To always do.

So here we were with heavy clouds, types of green, and pathways to walk on. Some of the girls were having a conversation. Wouldn’t it be great to get wet in the rain? Who had the guts? And they ran out in glee. And I smiled. Such fun to do things that make us shout in glee. Is it about guts or about permitting ourselves to have fun ? Is it about courage, or the worry of getting wet and falling, or is it about what others think? So our joys begin to hide in the midst of all these external problems we create and believe in.

The girls found their joy and ran into the rain, the ladies watched and enjoyed the sunset and raindrops. Inside or outside of us, what we love, what comes from Above, what nourishes, always make us smile.

As it subsided into a drizzle , I headed home.  The rains are here, joy is going to sing.

About Uzma

Welcome . This blog is a place of reflection ,a place of simple inspiration. A place where we share the simplicity and grandeur of life, as it teaches us, humbles us and leaves us full of gratitude. The journey is one of sheer Grace.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Life lessons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Learning in the rain:Love, joy,courage and the moment.

  1. vaidehi says:

    so loved it 🙂

  2. Hi,
    I love the simplicity of this post and the joy you found in the rain. Your ipod represents the love and music in your life. You have a way with word…I appreciate them.

    • uzma7 says:

      @ Tess. Thank you for the kind words. You’ve said it so beautifully and simply. My ipod does represent the love and music in my life. Thank you so much for stopping by and your compliment. Means a lot. God bless

  3. Dia says:

    Very nice uzma7, I liked this post a lot. I love your expressions that you used in this article a lot. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Evelyn Lim says:

    What beautiful writing! The heart takes delight in simple joys – like standing under a canopy and watching the shifting patterns of the landscape. Let’s revel in joy!

    • uzma7 says:

      @ Evelyn. Thank you so much. Indeed, so much joy in Nature. Glad to have met a fellow Nature’s beauty lover. Thank you for stopping by.

  5. Wow……. I like this style.

    “A beautiful day got adorned with precious rain. It poured suddenly and we all ran for cover ; old ladies walking in the park, a little girl playing with her father , a group of boys chasing each other, burqa clad ladies strolling with their friends and I.We gathered in a canopy at the park , our steps rushed and full of excitement that the sudden rain brings. And it made me think.”

    • uzma7 says:

      @Abubakar. Thank you. The writing style suddenly strikes,like inspiration. I wish I could do it deliberately but the Muse is evasive. Glad you liked it.

  6. Uzma- I’m so glad you are here 🙂 – Blogrolling you and looking forward to more……

  7. Farouk says:

    yes its true that at the time of crisis we think about protecting what we value the most, thank you for this nice post 🙂

  8. uzma7 says:

    @Farouk. Indeed. What we value and protect are the symbols of care and affection, both that we give and receive. Thank you for stopping by. Much appreciated 🙂

Leave a Reply

