Who are you talking to?

Artist :Gaurav Bose

 

Do you talk to God? Was the question I heard somewhere.

Do I ? I wondered.

I pray, I ask when I am in need, I often like to say a prayer of gratitude.

Yet once the dire situation has passed, when the happy event is over, then do I talk to Him ?

So many questions in the mind.

Can I talk to Him? Why does one tune into the frequency, and then tune out ?

Is it because we think of Him as someone too far away, too high up, too busy even?

I know I cannot see Him but I also know that He sees me, hears me, listens and cares.

And is that not enough ?

A beautiful passage from Rumi –The book of Love by Coleman Barks

From Chapter 2  – Sohbet : Who You Talking To ?

“ For Rumi the appearance of formal beauty comes as a natural response to being spoken to.  The rose opens because it has heard something. The cypress grows strong and straight because a love-secret is being whispered. Elegance in language arrives in response. Before creation there was a question, “Am I not your lord?”. The simultaneous YES that came is why we are here at all in the midst of three billion galaxies.

I have a friend who, when she wants to know who I am seeing, who I am I love with , asks, Who you talking to?

The exchange of deep friendship makes a fine entrance into love and trust, into the mysterious action that moves through the eyes, the voice, the heart.

….

Sufis say there are three ways of being with the mystery: prayer, then a step up from that, meditation, and a step up from that, conversation, the mystical exchange they call sohbet.”

What does our exchange with the Creator sound like, is it constant or intermittent, pining or grateful, is our aim a friendship of reverence , a communication that leads to deep understanding and peace?

Tell me, is there love in our relationship with God ? Who are you talking to, my friends?

About Uzma

Welcome . This blog is a place of reflection ,a place of simple inspiration. A place where we share the simplicity and grandeur of life, as it teaches us, humbles us and leaves us full of gratitude. The journey is one of sheer Grace.
This entry was posted in contemplation, Gratitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Who are you talking to?

  1. souldipper says:

    This post is full of awe for me, Uzma! I love what you have written.

    And I love learning from you. (I think the Beloved hums with delight when blogs like are written!).

    Many thanks, sweet soul. – Amy

    • souldipper says:

      P.S. – I meant “when blogs like this are written”. If, in the future, I found it appropriate to link to this article while writing mine, would you mind, Uzma?

    • Uzma says:

      Dear Amy, Am humbled. Thank you. It is I who is learning.
      It is in sharing that we receive, so am learning to simply share from my heart. I do hope the Beloved hums, my friend, and our hearts can dance to that music.

      Thank u so much for being here. Your words and presence mean a lot.

      And the post is all yours, it is my honour if you link to it.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Who are you talking to? « Seeking Light. -- Topsy.com

  3. I like to think my life is a prayer…most of the time;)

Leave a Reply

