The colours of seasons & the hues of life.

Colours change , birds fly away, temperatures oscillate, as the seasons change.  Something about the changing of seasons has always called to me. The beauty, the grandeur, the wisdom, the fantastic synchronization and seemingly effortless planning of this mammoth change around us.

We were listing the fruits that come this season, in India, custard apple followed by guava. The ones preceding custard apple, don’t have equivalent names in English. I suppose they’re found just here.

Isn’t it beautiful this flow of seasons?  The changing hues , ranging temperatures and the different fruit and vegetables we eat. We then wait for the next year for the cycle to start again. In this age of fast food, and instant everything , this excited waiting for the wonderful things every season brings, leaves me with a thrill, call it a childish joy, call it a quaint , romantic notion.

Life is like seasons. Changes flow one after another and then start all over again. Joy brings its colours and food with it, as does sadness. And we then flow to what comes next. Somewhere we learn to enjoy and simply watch the changing hues of each phase, each event, each emotion in life.

So like watching the leaves of fall, we watch the way our lives move. In sickness and health, in abundance and simplicity, in solitude and the commotion of crowds.

Life flows like the meandering river, watching each shore as its changes , learning from it, enjoying it, letting it be, smiling at it.

So I choose to watch, to joyfully, nostalgically observe , as life and the seasons change around me. I am the river, the onlooker, the soul, on this colourful, brilliant journey of vibrant colours and terrific hues. And I love it.

I am thankful for this. For the rain and the cold and the summer heat, for the autumn I have never seen, for the tears and the joy and the wisdom and the peace. I am humbled and grateful- for the seasons and all of life.

With much gratitude and love,

Uzma

 

About Uzma

Welcome . This blog is a place of reflection ,a place of simple inspiration. A place where we share the simplicity and grandeur of life, as it teaches us, humbles us and leaves us full of gratitude. The journey is one of sheer Grace.
This entry was posted in Gratitude, Life lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The colours of seasons & the hues of life.

  1. souldipper says:

    What a grand, descriptive and up-lifting post, Uzma. Just before I read it, I finished my oven-baked, autumn vegetables and felt the praise well up inside me as I savoured the last seasoned bite.

    Someone said that peace is God’s perfume. I am sitting in one of the most exquisite aromas at this moment.

    Thank you for serving dessert! 🙂

  2. Uzma says:

    @souldipper. WOW. I smell that delicious aroma you have there, all the way over here, my friend. That is such an awesome comment. ‘peace is God’s perfume’. wow. Coicidentally, just reading a book called the ‘fragrance of faith’. My pleasure for the dessert, thank you for sharing that beautiful meal, its essence and its aroma.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention The colours of seasons & the hues of life. « Seeking Light. -- Topsy.com

  4. Farnoosh says:

    Uzma, dear friend, this is a beautiful, touching, sweet and poetic piece. I love your prose, your analogies of seasons to our own life and all your words and your feelings resonate iwth me deeply … stay in touch with Mother Nature, it is the way to inner peace – and I am working to get closer to Her every day. Thank you for sharing this with us!

    • Uzma says:

      @Farnoosh. Dear, dear Farnoosh. Thank you ever so much for your very kind words. They mean a lot to me. I write from my heart and am humbled to be able to touch the hearts of others. Thank you for reminding me that peace lies with Mother Nature and thank you for being here. Life is such a wonderful learning journey isn’t it ?

  5. Pingback: Changes of Seasons | 9 Promises

Leave a Reply

