Positivity & Peace : Focus Matters

Often,we really yearn for peace and simplicity in our lives. Yet all the while, our attention, our thoughts, even our action is foccused on the negative. We’re trying to find solutions, yet the mind is always in a re-actionary mode. Our thoughts are very often, in defense of the negativity around – how to deal with the loud neighour, how do we lose the excess weight , how do we stop someome from complaining etc etc.

Then it strikes me ‘shouldn’t the focus be more proactive, more positive?.’

Dealing with the negative is draining. Looking forward with optimism is positive.

So, the thought becomes ‘Lets have a happy neighourhood’, ‘Lets be fit , full of health and vitality’.

The internal energy will change. Hope and lightness will set it.

I can say ,’ what do I do about this mean person and not get effected by him/her?’ or I can tell myself ,’ Everybody has a story and  everybody is like me ;forgiveness for myself and others and unconditional compassion is the way.

And most importantly, I tell myself, ‘ My focus should be on a strong, inner peace’.

To me, its an important shift, from looking at the shadows to basking in warm light. A vital first step  that gives one confidence – all will always be well. It begins from within.

With much gratitude

Uzma

About Uzma

Welcome . This blog is a place of reflection ,a place of simple inspiration. A place where we share the simplicity and grandeur of life, as it teaches us, humbles us and leaves us full of gratitude. The journey is one of sheer Grace.
This entry was posted in Change management, Gratitude, Healing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Positivity & Peace : Focus Matters

  1. John Archer says:

    Are you ever right. The mind has a habit of consuming us with it’s concerns of the outer world. All the while our breath keeps coming and going and the heart beats. To go within means to find a way to appreciate the very breath that keeps us alive. When we find that appreciation, the heart will rejoice. Then we will find fulfillment, inner peace and all the answers we never could find. But it is a search. If it was easy, the world would not be at war. Peace begins in the heart and breath of every human being. Good luck on your search for light. Good luck on your journey.
    . . ./J

    • Uzma says:

      @John Archer. Thank you ever so much for your kind words . Such a wonderful thing and so important, ‘to appreciate the very breath that keeps us alive’. Really appreciate your adding that very important part to the discussion- our breaths and appreciation. Thank you for your comment full of pristine wisdom. Hope to see you around again.

  2. Salil says:

    Very nice Uzma. I am sharing this on http://www.innerbell.net

  3. souldipper says:

    What dear and solid truth, Uzma. Thank you for the reminders. It is so very good to hear from you again. I have missed you.

    • Uzma says:

      @Souldipper. Thank you dear Amy. Such a pleasure to write again and to see this lovely comment from you. Missed this. Thank you too, for always being here and for love and support.

  4. Jimmy says:

    Thanks Uzma. I never doubted the importance of being positive. But I am guilty of falling into this ‘negative trance’ often – allowing circumstances and people to get the better of me. Are there any particularly effective and simple to use strategies to use get our mind laser sharp?

    • Uzma says:

      @Jimmy. I fall so often into the negative trance, so am still a student on the path of consistent positivity. What always works for me though, is to count the things I am grateful for, both in that moment and in life. I stop and think of all the things that are going right. My energy changes instantly. I write in a daily gratitude journal too.

      Another, is that I try to see what I can learn from the situation and then I become a curious onlooker, not someone caught in the sinking sand. What I usually learn is that, I have a choice of reaction, and if I am strong and secure , nothing can effect us, or pull us down.

      And ofcourse, there is always prayer. Simply telling God, I dunno what to do, so show me the way, help me and then complete surrender.

      Do let me know what works for you and do also share what you do to stay positive.

      Thanks for the great question.

  5. Rand says:

    Hello Uzma,

    We had only one very brief encounter at Tess’s site last Fall. My perspective was as a “seeker”. I probed with my comments…looking for someone other than you. My naivity of that encounter months later inspired a poem that I wrote that contains your name throughout, and a name that at one time I used for myself.

    We do not know each other at all, but I thought you should know that the encounter was inspirational for me and that it allowed for creativity. I wish to apologize to you for my cavalier behavior. The poem has helped me sort through this. Perhaps some beauty has come about as a result.

    Thank you for this and thank you for your list at the “Life Lessons Series”.

    May Peace be with you Uzma…

  6. Bob Smith says:

    Hi,

    like your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

