What does it feel like to be happy ?

What does happiness, really, really feel like ?  Danielle LaPorte makes us ask ourselves these questions, in an attempt to find our calling, our work, our ideal life. (in her Strategy of Desire worksheet)

What does that feel like to have our perfect world ? And then ask some more, If we want to feel happy, clever, enigmatic, ‘what does it feel like to be enigmatic’?

Reminds me  that  we have to ‘ask and we shall receive’.

It is about asking the right questions. And having the courage to hear the answers. Life is so much about courage, courage to speak up, courage to listen, courage to be true.

As I asked myself, what does it feel like ‘ to be happy ‘.  I had a few answers, ‘ awesome, incredible, love, to be in the moment’. They didn’t quite seem perfect.

And then I had to write, about gratitude.

Gratitude for a true friend, who amazes and humbles me by her honesty, her kindness and her integrity to be true. By her courage to strive to be more, and her ability to stay grounded and real, wild and free. Grateful that she can see my spirit and truly know me. 

Grateful for the incredible learning that whilst I feel I am being judged and not understood, I am in fact, also judging. 

Grateful for the reminder to believe in Universal Timing, life happens exactly on time, and its magical. All we have to do is see. 

Grateful to see a lovely wedding, full or regalia , ornate with delicate lavender , pink and white flowers, music, emotion, and a beautiful moon. 

Grateful to be brought out of sadness when I saw small boys stand behind one another and pray in a park .

Grateful to be reminded that I am happiest when I am amazed by life, by its splendour, its beauty, its wisdom, by the inspirations, the aspirations , the timeless tales of its people. To be touched, inspired, in awe. 

To watch, to capture, to share. What an amazing world !!

Grateful to be amazed by life, again.

How were you amazed today ? 

 

 

About Uzma

Welcome . This blog is a place of reflection ,a place of simple inspiration. A place where we share the simplicity and grandeur of life, as it teaches us, humbles us and leaves us full of gratitude. The journey is one of sheer Grace.
This entry was posted in Gratitude and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What does it feel like to be happy ?

  1. souldipper says:

    Uzma, I was amazed that Love moved into my heart today and replaced a resentment with forgiveness. I was amazed by the remembrance that Love does not leave just because a mistake was made and fear ran riot through a friendship. I was amazed that I could say, “Let’s”. I am amazed and full of gratitude.

  2. Nasmira says:

    amazed by reading this post today…mashaAllah!!

    • Uzma says:

      @Nasmira. Thank you so much Nasmira. JazakAllah, Allah (swt)’s creation is truly beautiful.

      • Nasmira says:

        Indeed it is..
        It’s a pleasure going through your blog..I’m not sure how to describe it..its more like..your words are soft..calm and ..umm there’s a hidden beauty to it actually! mashaAllah..may Allah swt bless you more..! Ameen

  3. Uzma says:

    @Nasmira. Thank you so much. Very touched by your gracious words and kind dua. May Allah (swt) bless us , our spirit , our work , our families and lives with inner beauty and great peace, inshallah. And always, a closeness to Him and an eye to see His Beauty everywhere.

  4. Rand says:

    I am amazed how when my trust with ‘The Maker’ is weakened of how it comes back like the rose opening up to receive light.

    “The goal of heart and a way of heart too. In all conviction, can I live in this moment knowing that the best for me, awaits me. That the best is here and will always be.”

    Yes, to dance in darkness with courage, faith, patience, and gratitude to what is meant to be…

  5. pea says:

    Driving today with remnants of bi-polar depression hanging around my head, I was held up briefly in traffic because a whole procession of army horses and their whip smart riders came by. They are probably training for the Olympics which will be nearby, as is the army barracks – and they were indescribably beautiful. I should have filmed it but I was agape at this extraordinary sight. It is one thing to see one or two horses on the road, but this was about 25, up close, some pulling military trailers….awesome.
    Animals are so beautiful and pure with such simple desires and intentions that they make me smile involuntarily, every time. As I do not take pills, this is as natural a cure for depression that I know.
    That’s how I was amazed today. So thank you for asking as it has bought another smile to my face just remembering it.
    Lovely post also.

    • Uzma says:

      @Pea. Thank you Pea for that brilliant description of the horses. Feels magnificent and amazing!! Natural beauty and grandeur do cure our troubles, don’t they and uplift the spirit. Truly appreciate the great horse visual. The Olympics will be a brilliant time.

Leave a Reply

